Fred E. Shapiro, D.O., FASA


Fred E. Shapiro, D.O., FASA is Associate Professor of Anesthesia, Harvard Medical School, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center Dept of Anesthesia Critical Care and Pain Medicine, Boston, MA. With a strong interest and reputation nationally in patient safety and education, he created the first Harvard Medical School Office- based anesthesia CME Course , The Manual of Office Based Anesthesia Procedures and wrote the ASA seminal CME article on Office Based Anesthesia Safety and Outcomes. He was recently reappointed Chair, American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Committee on Patient Safety and Education (6 years), member ASA Committees on Standards and Practice Parameters, Ambulatory Surgical Services, Communications, ASA Educational Track Subcommittees on Ambulatory Anesthesia and Professional Issues, CMS credentialed Surveyor for the Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care  (AAAHC), Past President Massachusetts Society of Anesthesiologists and member of the Academy of Medical Educators at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center. He is Immediate Past President of the Suffolk District, Massachusetts Medical Society (MMS) , Vice Chair , MMS Interspecialty Committee, member of MMS Professional Liability, Blue Cross Blue Shield Massachusetts Peer Review, Harvard Pilgrim Healthcare Credentialing , and Quality and Safety Committee , Department of Anesthesia, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center.

Dr. Shapiro is certified representative, Organized Medical Staff Section (OMSS) of American Medical Association- (AMA)  for Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center. He was recently appointed to The Joint Commission (TJC) Technical Advisory Panel to develop a National Patient Safety Goal for Reducing Harm from Anticoagulant Therapy. He represents anesthesiology in the HMS interprofessional curriculum incorporating quality and safety projects from surgical, anesthesia and nursing specialties. In Nov 2017, he was awarded the FASA designation, ASA’s highest acknowledgment recognizing years of dedication to exceptional education, leadership and commitment to the specialty. In Nov 2018, he was chosen to represent ASA as invited patient safety expert lecturer at KoreAnesthesia in Seoul, Korea and in May 2019, he was invited as official representative as Chair of the ASA Patient Safety and Education Committee at the Japan Society of Anesthesiology in Kobe, Japan.

 In 2009, he co-founded The Institute for Safety in Office Based Surgery (, an independent, multidisciplinary, non-profit organization to promote patient safety in office based surgery through scholarship, patient and physician education. He created The ISOBS office based surgical safety checklist for practitioners, adopted as a resource for the American Academy of Healthcare Risk Management and The ISOBS Patient Checklist, featured in the July 2016  Harvard Pilgrim Healthcare (HPHC) subscriber newsletter HPHC website and in 2018, created The ISOBS Office- Based Emergency Manual, endorsed by ASA/IHI officially added to EMIC website.  

In 2017, he co -founded, The Incubator for Patient Safety & Outcomes (IPSO) The institute’s mission is to empower patients with patient safety through innovative research, strategic partnerships, and patient safety outreach tools.